Why can’t I keep the temperature at 225 degree?

Buget

I am very new to Kamado joe cooking.  I have now tried 2 low and slows, each time the temperature will not stay anywhere near 110C/225F. Even when I am set up for a quicker roast (charcoal chicken etc around 280c), the temperature seems to keep growing.

today, I couldn’t get it to hold below 150C/300F.

I only light 1 fire lighter in the centre and today I closed it down a lot early than what I have been to gently bring it up to temperature.  I got to 225, but it wouldn’t hold.  I started with the bottom vent at about an inch and the top about 3/4 way to the first mark, but the temperature slowly grew on the dome and on my grill thermometer.

I actually resorted to closing the top completely off and the bottom to about 1cm/0.5inch. However, by that time, the dome was hot and it wouldn’t cool down quickly. As a result, my brisket was done way ahead of schedule (4.5hrs) and is likely going to be dry.  

I’m not sure what I am doing wrong.  It was a pretty warm day here in Sydney (33C/91F) which may not be helping, but doesn’t explain why the temperature kept growing.  

I used a full load of charcoal (50pct new/50pct left over) as I was expecting to go a lot longer than what I did. Maybe too much charcoal in the basket?  Or maybe the wrong type? It was the stuff that came with the grill when I brought it, so it might burn really hot. 

has anyone got any ideas?  I have watch pretty much every video I can fine, and they all say about an inch on the bottom and first line on the top for holding around 225, for some reason, it’s not happening on mine.  

So the brisket is currently resting.  I am hoping that I can get it through to an early dinner. It is just very frustrating.

Sounds like temp creep

Try setting your vents earlier 

If you want a long stable cook, add a starter cube, let it burn for around 10min with the lid open, then shut your lid and set your vents 

Leave it alone for at least 90min