Questions on the whole resting thing

So I've always heard about "resting meat" after a cook. I'm not very good at it by the way. Should all meats be rested? Steaks, roasts, turkey, even chicken?? So I just read on here about someone resting a roast for like 45 minutes... then do you just serve your meal cold?

Educate me please.... Thanks

The purpose of a rest, as I understand it is to give the juices in the meat you cooked time  to re penetrate and avoid them just running out all over your cutting board leaving your brisket or roast more dry in taste and texture. I rest brisket for up to maybe an hour after a long cook. However I rest it in a yeti roadie cooler that I have warmed with hot water during the last hour of my cook. So the meat stays a nice steamy warm. I wrap the brisket in fresh butcher paper, and then some clean old towels and then put it in my dried but warm cooler.  I do much the same thing but with a 20 minute rest for Prime rib Tri Tip. Meat comes out great, usually the length of the rest is determined by when I finish the cook, and when dinner is planned and the sides are ready. I rest steaks about 15 minutes tented in aluminum foil. I don't really rest poultry. 

7 minutes ago, keeperovdeflame said: