Kamado Joe 3 Need a  Perfect 2 Grill Combo

tfunge

Kamado Big Joe 3 vs Classic 3. I Have  the Joe jr and love it  . I need a  perfect 2 grill combo for a family of 2 and when i entertain will be  8 people at times. Is the Classic Big enough for 8-10 people . I mostly smoke ribs, Pork Butts and rarely a Brisket . I want to move away from my gas webber grill and  Smoken Tex electric smoker. I Don't like the electric smokers temp only goes to 250* also chicken skin is rubbery at that temp ! 

I’m still new to kamado cooking, having purchased my Classic 3 a couple of months ago. I absolutely love it and wish I had bought one sooner, but better late than never. I cook primarily for my wife and me, but also for guests from time to time. So far, my only issue with space was when cooking baby backs. Just getting 3 racks on was a challenge. See pic below. I could have trimmed the small ends and they would have fit better. I’ll be getting a rib rack which will hopefully let me get at least 4 racks on. I can cook 8 at a time in my Pit Barrel. Haven’t cooked a brisket yet and suspect I might need the rib rack to help fit a full packer on, although I’ve cooked many on a Kettle with SnS, which cuts the grate real estate in half. I’ve only cooked 1 pork butt, but could have easily gotten 2 on, and maybe 3.

The rib cook had me wishing I had bought the Big Joe 3, but that would have introduced other issues when only cooking for 2. I still have my stick burner, PBC and Kettle, along with the gasser if I need to have multiple cooks going at the same time. Since you already have the Joe Jr., Big Joe might be the way to go, especially if you have a need for several racks of ribs at once.

image.thumb.jpeg.ff35b14302125f344a119dea64062524.jpeg