Another newbie...

carlh

Greetings from Hot Springs Village, AR.  Just moved here, having previously living in Medford Oregon for the last 19 years.  My house gift to myself was a Kamado Joe Classic III.  It arrived Monday and I assembled it that day.  Held off doing anything with it today when I did the inaugural cook with an easy venture of grilling a beautiful rib eye steak.  While I've been cooking with charcoal for many years on a Weber kettle, this is my first go with a Kamado style unit.  I must say, that even though it was an easy cook, it went extremely well.  It was my wife's birthday, so I didn't want to experiment with anything new.  After getting the grill temps to 500, I set the racks up for both direct and indirect cooking, seared the steak for 2 minutes on both sides, then moved it to the indirect side with a Meater probe inserted for the final cook time.  The Meater navigated the temps and I pulled it off for the resting period.  And, a perfect medium rare steak was enjoyed by the both of us.  

Rookie mistake was inserting the probe for the searing portion -- yes, I got a warning alarm for the high temps.  Pulled the probe and reinserted once it was finished searing.  Lesson learned there.  Looking forward to trying a reverse sear in a future endeavor.  But, I'm really looking forward to my first "low and slow" cook!