Top dome lifted off band during pizza cook (and firebox cracked)

fotoflux

I did a pizza cook at 600 degrees today. Pizza turned out great, however my lid lifted off the band in the back on my 2021 model Primo XL with the latest hinge. It left quite the gap and the grill wasn’t cooling after I closed the dampers. I was able to push it down while it was still hot. The bands were tight as of a month ago. Should I be worried about this? Is this expected?

05294F61-BC68-4677-842A-D604AAEF5885.jpeg

8EC7FEA2-DF3E-43E6-B606-3C9CC4C8D650.jpeg

CC3AE2DF-FF2C-459E-BA55-4C004FE0A5BF.jpeg

Oh and… firebox cracked…. After 2 months of use…. Pizza tuned out great, however! Not sure if I can cook pizza in this grill again though since so much “broke” during one cook.

9A113645-FF22-4368-B15C-F7D3FD414AF3.jpeg

BCDE6934-1549-4588-89EC-FC2387CB7FFE.jpeg

Bummer! I wouldn’t think 600° is so hot that it would cause problems like that. KJ is officially rated up to 750°. I’m assuming you can reposition the band. I don’t know what the Primo warranty is on ceramics. KJ has a lifetime warranty.

Pizza is one of the reasons I keep my Kettle. The OnlyFire pizza oven is a fantastic accessory and I don’t have to worry about getting it too hot.

Primo says 850 on their website. I would have avoided heating it up so much if it wasn’t advertised as a pizza oven. They even have a video on their official account showing how to self clean at 700 degrees. So not sure why mine cracked besides a defect 

2E845E33-DADC-4978-851B-649CFC06A96F.png