Corned beef brisket vs primal brisket

Sgtsmokeky

Go easy on me fellas I am very new to brisket (have never cooked one) so my first attempt may be a complete failure. 

a friend tipped me off that Kroger had slabs 1.99 a lb today. A steal for sure.  I went to grab one but they were way bigger than I wanted to pay for to practice. I spoke to the butcher and he said to try one of the corned beef briskets. On impulse I believed him and came home with what is a perfect starter brisket size. Now I have never eaten corned beef. Once I got home I started researching and I fear I have made a terrible mistake. 

however I have read some promising suggestions to soak in water changing the water every 2 hours for 8 hours to pull the brine out. 

not sure if I will be mocked mercilessly or encouraged on this course of action. Also any suggested bbq rub techniques? I read a traeger post on how to do it with a sauce rub. Open to suggestions. Fairly certain I won’t get that cowboy classic brisket out of this but I’d like something my wife will eat lol. 

https://www.traeger.com/recipes/smoked-corned-brisket

If you purchased "corned beef" (a brined brisket), then your only option now is:

1) Cook it as traditional corned beef.  Boiled, steamed - numerous options depending on your desired result.  Always soak to reduce salt/nitrate levels is usually recommended.

2) Soak it (yes) to remove some of the salt/brine, but then smoke it to make pastrami.  Basically the link you posted is pastrami IMO...they just don't seem to call it that.

It is cured at this point, so you can't reverse that.  You should always soak corned beef in water to pull out some of the brine or it can be overly salty (and it is also good to help remove as much of the nitrates as well!), but that will not reverse the "cure.

2 hours ago, Sgtsmokeky said:

I went to grab one but they were way bigger than I wanted to pay for to practice