A Complete Novice Builds a Table

MD_Ag

Like so many before me, I wanted to upgrade my kamado setup with more workspace and a more aesthetically pleasing look than the standard metal cradle. I also hadn't built anything from wood by myself since 8th grade wood shop. But with some encouragement from friends who didn't deserve to be dragged into another project, those magic words fluttered through my head: "How hard could it be?"  My hope is that this little adventure inspires others, and the mostly step by step pictures help those like me who have no idea how the professionals get from A to B.

I started by drawing up some plans, looking at stuff online, redrawing plans, taking a month off, one more drawing, etc.  Finally I hit the lumber yard last year, near the peak of prices. All pressure treated, so I let it sit in my garage for a few weeks to dry out, which turned into a year.

Materials:

4x4x8 - 2 (these are the legs)

1x6x8 - 6 (surface planks; I have 4 extra in the garage, no clue why, other than the "final" plans were lost)

2x4x8 - 6 (get 7 instead in case you want extra or different cross supports)

~1 lb of 3.5" exterior screws (used them all)

~1 lb of 2.5" exterior screws (used most)

As a novice, I am a poor craftsman who will blame my tools, specifically my lack of them. I used a circular saw for all cuts. Wood is forgiving, but I was asking a lot of it.  The fact that this thing ended up level and (mostly) square amazes me.  I started by assembling the two sides, using 8 pieces of 2x4 (28.5" long) to connect the 4x4 pieces (33"). All connections between the framing pieces used the 3.5" screws.

20220714_10381450k6s.jpg

Lugging the materials up to the deck, I used longer 2x4 pieces (60") to connect the two sets of legs. A set of clamps I had just bought really came in handy here.

20220714_113807kyk31.jpg