Sign in to follow this  
dtbubba

Kamado: FINALLY!

Hello All!

Just purchased a Big Joe yesterday and made my first meal last night: Cowboy ribeye, red potatoes and corn on the cob. 

I hope to smoke big pieces of meat: baby backs, beef short ribs, brisket, pork butt, etc. Really looking to try my hand at smoking my own ham this Christmas. 

My biggest struggle so far (you know, in 24hours) is getting the temperature right (over cooked the steak on one side) and dealing with the cool down time (pretty much all night). 

I'm an arts pastor at an evangelical church in the west suburbs of Chicago. I'm in charge of all things arts and media so I like long slow smokes to give me an excuse to slow down myself and take a breather. I've been cooking since I was twelve and cut my teeth as a grill man at Olive Garden during college turning out hundreds of steaks, chicken and fish with little room for error every night. I've done mostly off-set cooking on gas grills with chips and chunks for smoke for the last 5 years and I'm glad to finally have my big joe. Took lots of patience and quite a bit of saving but now I'm going to take every chance I get to fire that baby up. 

Thankful for this forum (used it to find out how long it takes to cool the grill or if there was a technique I was not aware of last night). 

Blessings,

DTBubba

post-3366-0-64221600-1377033597_thumb.jp

Welcome and glad you found us! Congrats on the new Joe, nice choice. They say the red ones cook better, ha! It will take some time to get use to cooking on a kamado but all your favorites will taste so much better. Good luck and feel free to jump in and join the conversation.  

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.