New Vision owner w/ my first mod

Bought a Costco $299 Vision on Sunday. I've been using the Char-Griller Akorn for the last 18 months but I could not let the Vision deal get pass me.  I sealed the bottom vent w/ Nomex under the slider & added high temp. silicon on the edges of the outside slider frame.

I made a pan/stone hanger out of 1/8" x 1/2" steel & a Weber charcoal grate (#7440 18.5" but measures 13.5").

The steel was 2 - 3' lengths @ $3.57 each & the grate was $8.99.

As a bonus I picked up some bags of "True-Cue" lump for $3.18/8.8 lbs. 

The steel hangs down 3" so I will have room to place a drip pan or pizza stone under the grate. I also used 100 lb. stainless steel wire to wire the grate & steel together at the cross & at the four edges.

post-630-0-28633600-1378261172_thumb.jpgpost-630-0-38121000-1378261260_thumb.jpgpost-630-0-88269400-1378261277_thumb.jpg

Looks Great John421.  Question about the bracket:  Is it the Weldable Steel Slotted Metal Flat Bar from Lowes?  Item # 44108??

Are you worried about it rusting?    I was going to do the EXACT same thing, but use aluminum instead.  Maybe something wider than 1/2" for strength.

Thanks DerHusker.  

I looked up Aluminum's melting point, 1221 deg Fahrenheit.   Given I want the bracket for "low-and-slow" indirect coking, < 300 deg F, Aluminum should be OK right?   Even when I'm doing pizza, temperatures should be < 600 deg F.   

If I use steel, what are the implications of heating rusting steel and food?  

My plan is to use the bracket and a 14" cast iron skillet as a heat deflector/drip pan.

Thanks DerHusker.  

I looked up Aluminum's melting point, 1221 deg Fahrenheit.   Given I want the bracket for "low-and-slow" indirect coking, < 300 deg F, Aluminum should be OK right?   Even when I'm doing pizza, temperatures should be < 600 deg F.   

My plan is to use the bracket and a 14" cast iron skillet as a heat deflector/drip pan.